NoViolet Bulawayo makes Women’s Prize longlist

The 2023 Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist has been announced with NoViolet Bulawayo’s Glory among the 16 books.

The longlist, curated by a panel of judges including Rachel Joyce, Bella Mackie, Irenosen Okojie, Tulip Siddiq and chair of judges Louise Minchin, features both debut and best-selling writers.

“This year’s longlist is a glorious celebration of the boundless imagination and creative ambition of women writers over the past year,” Minchin said. “Every one of these 16 books is excellent and original in its own individual way; they all offer fresh perspectives on history and humanity, exploring hard truths with empathy, sensitivity, directness, and sometimes infectious humour. There is something here for all readers!”

The Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2023 in no particular order:

Glory by NoViolet Bulawayo (Chatto & Windus)

Homesick by Jennifer Croft (Charco Press) Fire Rush by Jacqueline Crooks (Jonathan Cape) 

Children Of Paradise by Camilla Grudova (Atlantic) 

Stone Blind by Natalie Haynes (Mantle) Trespasses by Louise Kennedy (Bloomsbury Circus) 

Demon Copperhead by Barbara Kingsolver (Faber & Faber) 

Cursed Bread by Sophie Mackintosh (Hamish Hamilton) 

The Dog Of The North by Elizabeth McKenzie (Fourth Estate) 

Black Butterflies by Priscilla Morris (Duckworth Books) 

The Marriage Portrait by Maggie O’Farrell (Tinder Press) 

I’m A Fan by Sheena Patel (Granta Books) Pod by Laline Paull (Corsair) 

Wandering Souls by Cecile Pin (Fourth Estate) 

The Bandit Queens by Parini Shroff (Allen & Unwin) 

Memphis by Tara M Stringfellow (John Murray Press) 


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date