James Currey Prize for African Literature announces 2022 shortlist

The Jury for the 2022 James Currey Prize for African Literature has announced a shortlist of five. 

In its second year, it was established by Nigerian writer, filmmaker, publisher and University of Oxford scholar, Onyeka Nwelue, and named after the eminent British publisher of African literature, and studies, James Currey.

Professor James Currey and Onyeka Nwelue at the African Studies Centre, University of Oxford

Jury chair, Ever Obi, says: “The major work is done.”

The winner, who will receive a cash prize of £1,000, will be announced at a ceremony at the University of Oxford on 3 September 2022. 

The writers on the shortlist in no particular order are: 

  1. Rose Okeke – Child of the Corn (Nigeria)
  2. Buntu Siwisa – Paperless (South Africa)
  3. Esomnofu Ebelenna Tobenna – Madness (Nigeria)
  4. Abenea Ndago – Lord Kitchener (Kenya)
  5. Mohammed Hammie – Mandiga’s Well (Tanzania)

Jury members include Indian author and scholar, Dr. Suraj Yengde, Teri Sillo (United Kingdom), Thomas Dukelabik Amanquandor (Ghana), Peace Anyiam-Osigwe (Nigeria), Olukorede S Yishau (Nigeria), and Charmaine R Mujeri (Zimbabwe). 

The inaugural James Currey Prize for African Literature was awarded in 2021 to Ani Kayode Somtochukwu for his novel, “And Then He Sang a Lullaby,” which is forthcoming from the Grove Atlantic imprint Roxane Gay Books in 2023.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date