Nelson, Blakemore, Adébáyò, others vie for Dylan Thomas Prize

The shortlist for the esteemed Swansea University Dylan Thomas Prize has been announced featuring six outstanding emerging writers vying for the £20,000 award and literary acclaim, per

Among the contenders are Mary Jean Chan, Caleb Azumah Nelson, AK Blakemore, Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, Catherine Lacey and Joshua Jones, showcasing a diverse range of literary talent and storytelling prowess.

Mary Jean Chan’s Bright Fear explores postcolonial themes with poignant poetry, while Caleb Azumah Nelson’s Small Worlds captivates readers with its exploration of love and migration. AK Blakemore’s The Glutton offers a fictionalised glimpse into historical events, and Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀’s A Spell of Good Things delves into Nigerian domestic and political landscapes. Catherine Lacey’s Biography of X and Joshua Jones’s Local Fires also contribute unique perspectives to the literary landscape.

Ayobami Adebayo

The winner will be revealed at a ceremony in Swansea, the hometown of Dylan Thomas, on May 16th. The judging panel, which includes notable writers Namita Gokhale and Tice Cin, faces the challenging task of selecting the most outstanding work from these exceptional talents, highlighting the ongoing celebration of young writers and the enduring legacy of Dylan Thomas in fostering creativity and innovation in contemporary literature.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date