Durban FilmMart Institute unveils diverse cohort for 3rd DFMI Business Lab

The Durban FilmMart Institute (DFMI) has announced the 35 participants hailing from 22 different countries across the African continent for the third installment of the DFMI Business Lab. Following an unprecedented influx of applications, this selection reflects the vibrant and burgeoning talent pool in the African film industry.

The chosen cohort of budding filmmakers and producers will embark on a transformative 12-week journey through a meticulously crafted business development program. The primary objective is to equip them with the essential skills required to navigate the global film market successfully.

Magdalene Reddy, the Director of DFMI, expressed her gratitude for the continuous support from DW Akademie, acknowledging their pivotal role in capacity building within Africa’s film industry. Reddy emphasised that the lab, now in its third year, not only imparts crucial expertise but also fosters a sense of community among participants. This collaborative environment encourages peer-to-peer support, enabling producers to exchange opportunities and insights, further enriching their engagement with the film industry.

The programme’s curriculum is thoughtfully structured, focusing on key modules like Financial Management, Business Management, Intellectual Property & Entertainment Law, Distribution and Coproduction. These modules will be led by seasoned film and creative industry professionals from Burkina Faso, Canada, France, Kenya, South Africa and the USA.

DFMI Business Lab participants represent a diverse spectrum of talent, each bringing their unique perspectives and aspirations to the programme:

– Abdifatah Abdi (Somalia)

– Boi Beatrice Kenneh (Sierra Leone)

– Boris Fredy Agblo (Benin)

– Chelsea Art (South Africa)

– Doreen R. Kilimbe (Tanzania)

– Duwayne Murphy (South Africa)

– Emil Garuba (Nigeria)

– Faith Riyano (Zimbabwe)

– Faye Binetou (Senegal)

– François Maree (South Africa)

– Ghislaine Kanga (Ivory Coast)

– Gopalen Parthiben Chellapermal (Mauritius)

– Habtamu Mekonen (Ethiopia)

– Ian Tarimo (Tanzania)

– Ibtissem Labidi (Tunisia)

– Khangelani Mtyhalela (South Africa)

– Khanyisile Zondi (South Africa)

– Lauren Scholtz (South Africa)

– Limbani Maxwell Teputepu (Malawi)

– Madelize De Lange (South Africa)

– Manar El-Zohery (Egypt)

– Muhammad Taymour (Egypt)

– Muhannad Lamin (Libya)

– Naseeba Bagalaaliwo (Uganda)

– Ndumiso Gumede (South Africa)

– Nduruka Njoroge (Kenya)

– Omoyefe Majoroh (Nigeria)

– Oueslati Ager (Algeria)

– Oularé Momo (Guinea)

– Paul Wilo (Zambia)

– Pingdewinde Tiemtore (Burkina Faso)

– Rugare Ponde (Zimbabwe)

– Sally Ngoiri (Kenya)

– Timilehin Adewoye (Nigeria)

– Zineb Chafchaouni Moussaoui (Morocco)

This transformative programme is presented in partnership with DW Akademie and receives crucial support from the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development. The eagerly awaited online programme is scheduled to commence in October 2023.

DFMI extends its gratitude to the Durban Film Office and the eThekwini Municipality, who play a pivotal role as principal funders, ensuring the continued growth and success of this transformative initiative in the African film industry.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date