2020 Commonwealth Writers Short Story Prize Award Ceremony

Celebrate the winners and the power of storytelling, hear extracts from the winning stories read by our special guests, and be the first to find out who is the overall winner of the 2020 Commonwealth Short Story Prize.

The ceremony is open to all.


Watch the live stream
Tuesday 30 June 1pm WAT
Jamaica 7am / UK 1pm BST / Nigeria 1pm / India 5.30pm / Australia AWST 8pm / ACST 9.30pm / AEST 10pm

Here are the 2020 prize regional winners.

Innocent Chizaram Ilo
‘When a Woman Renounces Motherhood’

Kritika Pandey
‘The Great Indian Tee and Snakes’

*Canada and Europe
Reyah Martin
‘Wherever Mister Jensen Went’

Brian S Heap

Andrea E Macleod
‘The Art of Waving

Special guest readers at the event:

Bernardine Evaristo
Booker Prizewinning Author.

Swara Bhasker
Actor, ‘Nii Bhattey Sannata’ and ‘Raanjhanaa’

Elizabeth McGovern
Actor, ‘Downton Abbey’ and ‘Once Upon a Time in America’

Leila Bertrand
Actor, ‘Meantime’ and ‘Kidulthood’

Kerry Fox
Actor, ‘An Angel at My Table’ and ‘Shallow Grave’

Hosted by actor Shelley King
‘Coronation Street’ and ‘Tandoori Nights’

Register to watch the online ceremony on 30 June and receive exclusive content in the lead-up and beyond

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date