Morland African Writing Scholarship Announces 2020 judges.

Muthoni Garland, Chuma Nwokolo, and Bibi Bakare-Yusuf were announced as judges for the Morland African Writing Scholarships 2020 on June 15, 2020. The award is open for entries from July 1, 2020.

The Morland Writing Scholarships for African Writers, universally known as the Morland Writing Scholarship, gives writers a grant of £18,000, paid monthly over the course of twelve months. At the discretion of the foundation, Scholars writing non-fiction may receive a grant of up to £27,000, paid over a period of up to eighteen months.

Since it was founded, scholars have been awarded in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, and 2019. Some of these writers have been Kola Tubosun, Edwige Renee Dro, Yewande Omotoso, Noo Saro-Wiwa, Akwaeke Emezi, Karen Jennings, and Ayesha Harruna Attah.

The foundation has today announced the judges for this year’s edition starting with writer, publisher, and Storymoja Festival founder Muthoni Garland who will be reprising her role as chair. Academic and co-founder of Cassava Republic Press Bibi Bakare-Yusuf remains on the panel while the new face is writer and lawyer Chuma Nwokolo.

Those who wish to enter for the scholarship can put forward their entries from July 1, 2020. For more information about the scholarship and entering for it please click here.

Text excluding title courtesy: JamesMurua

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date