South African Hip Hop Awards 2019: Full Nominees List

It’s award season across different industries and music is at the forefront of the pack.

The nominees for the 2019 edition of the South African Hip Hop Awards was recently announced ahead of the awards ceremony at the Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg on 20 November.

The artist boasting the most nominations is YoungstaCPT with four, followed by Riky Rick, K.O, Nadia Nakai, Gemini Major, Flame, Big Zulu and DJ Speedsta with three apiece.

Other nominated artists include Sjava and Nasty C who each scooped multiple South African Music Awards at the prestigious ceremony earlier this year.

Voting is based on a combination of judges’ scores (60%) and public votes (40%) in the following five categories: Best Collaboration,
Best Female,
Best Male,
Best Video and
Song of the Year.
Voting is 100% online in the Best Hip Hop Radio Show category.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Song of the Year

‘Supa Dupa’ – K.O
‘Utatakho’ – Yanga Chief
‘Khethile Khethile’ – Kwesta ft. Makwa, Tshego AMG and Thee Legacy
‘You & I’ – Riky Rick ft. Mlindo the Vocalist
‘Right Now’ – Gemini Major ft. Nasty C and Tellaman
‘No Stress’ – DJ Speesta ft. Zoocci Coke Dope, Una Rams and Da L.E.S
‘Hello’ – Beast ft. Sjava
‘Vur Vai’ – Kwesta
‘Ama Million’ – Big Zulu ft. Cassper Nyovest
‘Say You Will’ – K.O ft Nandi Madida
Best Album of the Year

Thank Da King – Kid X
Ungqongqoshe Wongqongqoshe – Big Zulu
Candyman Flame – Candyman
3T – YoungstaCPT
Nadia Naked – Nadia Nakai
Mixtape of the Year

Job Woods – Gigi Lamayne
Never Grow Up – Shane Eagle
BottlebrushStr – DJ Speedsta
Die Dope – Die Mondez & Zoocci Coke Dope
18 Flow – Touchline
Best Male

Kid X
Big Zulu
The Big Hash
Best Female

Nadia Nakai
Gigi Lamayne
DJ of the Year

DJ Speesta
DJ Akio
DJ Zan D
Ms Cosmo
Producer of the Year

Makwa Beats
Gemini Major
Zoocci Coke Dope
Best Collabo

‘You & I’ – Riky Rick ft. Mlindo the Vocalist
‘Right Now’ – Gemini Major ft. Nasty C and Tellaman
‘Right Now’ – DJ Speedsta ft. Zoocci Coke Dope, Una Rams and Da L.E.S
‘Hello’ – Beast ft. Sjava
‘Say You Will’ – K.O ft. Nandi Madida
Lyricist of the Year

Jimmy Wiz
Ginger Trill
Freshman of the Year (Newcomer)

The Big Hash – Young
Flame – CandyMan
Touchline – 18 Flow
Jimmy Wiz – Accordin’ to Jim
PatricKxxLEE – Nowhere Child
MVP/Hustler of the Year

Cassper Nyovest
Nadia Nakai
Nasty C
Riky Rick
Best Video

‘YVR’ – YoungstaCPT
‘Lost Hills’ – Vato Kayde ft. AKA and Gator
‘Supa Dupa’ – K.O
‘Hosh’ – Priddy Ugly ft. Wichi 1080 & YoungstaCPT
‘Sudden’ – Frank Casino ft. Cassper Nyovest and Major League DJz
Best Local Brand

StylaGang Original Designs
Y?Gen Apparel
Best International Brand

Power Play
Castle Lite
Russian Bear Vodka
Promoter of the Year

Pop Bottles
Cotton Fest
The Ivyson Tour
Durban Varsity fest
Fill Up
Best Remix

‘Juju’ (remix) Yanga Chief ft. Kwesta
‘Warrior’(remix) – Zaddy Swag ft. DJ Capital, Touchline, Emtee, PdotO, Ab Crazy, Red Button and Big Star Johnson
‘Ap3x’ (remastered) – Shane Eagle ft. Bas
‘Yeah’ (remix) – DJ D Double ft. AKA, Da L.E.S and YoungstaCPT
‘Culture Vulture’ (remix) – 25k ft. Emtee & AKA
Hennessy Honorary Award

Falko Graffiti Artist
Ubuntu Activism

Best Radio Show

YFM – SA Hip Hop Live
Ukhozi FM – iNumba Numba
Ligwalagwala FM – Hip Hop Parliment
Good Hope FM ­– The Ready D Show
Metro FM – Absolute Hip Hop
Massiv Metro – The Element
Motsweding FM – Motswako wa Hip Hop
Gagazi FM – The Fresh Cut
YFM – The Rodeo
5FM – The Stir Up

Visit the South African Hip Hop Awards official website for more information on voting.

Original story:

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date