Henrike Grohs Art Award: Redistribution of Ceremony Funds to shortlisted artists as Artist Stipends

Grohs Update on the Henrike Grohs Art Award Artist Stipends and Winner Announcement
Due to the Covid-19 pandemic and as a duty of care to our project team, contributors, supporters, artists and the visiting public we took the decision to cancel the 2020 Henrike Grohs Art Award ceremony in Dakar, Senegal, as scheduled for 30 May 2020.  

The remaining funds that were to be used to host the ceremony in Dakar will now be redistributed to the top 17 shortlisted artists. Each artist will receive 500€ to use or share as needed. The 17 artists receiving once off stipends are:

Abdessamad El Montassir (Morocco)
Anderu Immaculate Mali a.k.a Immy Mali (Uganda)
Aurelie Djiena (Cameroon)
Christopher Nelson Obuh (Nigeria)
Eva Diallo (Senegal/Switzerland)
Francois Knoetze (South Africa)
Ivy Brandie Chemutai Ng’ok (Kenya)
Kitso Lelliott (Botswana/South Africa)
Michael Soi (Kenya)
Misheck Masamvu (Zimbabwe)
Oupa Sibeko (South Africa)
Patrick Bongoy (DRC/South Africa)
Rehema Chachage (Tanzania)
Stacey Gillian Abe (Uganda)
Syowia Kyambi (Kenya)
Thenjiwe Niki Nkosi (South Africa/USA)
Va-Bene Elikem Kofi Fiatsi (Ghana)

The announcement of the main award winner – selected by a jury made up of Gabi Ngcobo (South Africa), Paula Nascimento (Angola) and Sarah Rifky (Egypt) – will be shared on the Henrike Grohs Art Award website and social media platforms on 30 July 2020. The main prize winner will receive 20.000€ and 10.000€ towards a publication with the two runners up each receiving 5.000€. Akwasi Bediako Afrane (Ghana), Jackie Karuti (Kenya) and Sabelo Mlangeni (South Africa) are the top 3 selected artists.

For more information:


Henrike Grohs Art Award Website: www.henrikegrohsartaward.africa
Facebook: facebook.com/HenrikeGrohsArtAward/
Twitter: twitter.com/HG_ArtAward

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date