2023 Mo Siewcharran Prize announces longlist

Hachette Children’s Group has announced the 10-strong longlist for the 2023 Mo Siewcharran Prize, which will focus exclusively on writers and illustrators of picture books. 

Launched in 2019 as part of Hachette UK’s The Future Bookshelf scheme, this year’s iteration will be hosted by Hachette Children’s Group. The winner will receive a £2,500 prize and the offer of a publishing deal, subject to contract, while second-placed writers will receive £1,000. 

The shortlist, winner and runner-up will be judged by Smith and Beswick.

The Mo Siewcharran Prize is a prestigious award that recognises the best in picture book writing and illustration. The prize is named after Mo Siewcharran, a former Hachette employee who was passionate about children’s books. 

The prize is open to unpublished writers and illustrators, and aims to discover and nurture new talent in the industry.

The longlist for the 2023 Mo Siewcharran Prize features 10 talented writers and illustrators, each of whom has demonstrated exceptional skill and creativity in their work. The longlisted entries include a diverse range of styles and themes, from heartwarming stories about family and friendship to fantastical tales of adventure and magic.

The Mo Siewcharran Prize is an important initiative that supports emerging talent in the children’s book industry. By focusing exclusively on picture books, the prize highlights the importance of this genre in inspiring and engaging young readers. The longlist for the 2023 prize is a testament to the wealth of talent and creativity in the industry. 

According to reports, the shortlist for the 2023 Mo Siewcharran Prize will be announced on September 11.


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date