Today in #TheLagosReview

Def Jam Introduces Def Jam Africa, Signs New Artistes

Def Jam Records is making its way into Africa.

As a division of Universal Music Group, Def Jam has been a name to respect in the industry for the last 36 years. Focusing predominantly on rap and hip-hop, the label was founded by Russell Simmons and Rick Rubin, and today boasts artists such as Kanye West, Rihanna, Justin Bieber, Big Sean, DMX, and Jeezy on its books. Def Jam branches have already been established in the UK and even Japan, but it is now Africa’s turn.

Universal Music Group has announced the launch of Def Jam Africa which will be dedicated to representing “the best hip-hop, Afrobeats and trap talent in Africa, and will follow the blueprint of the iconic Def Jam Recordings label,” according to its statement. The division is expected to focus — at least at first — on South Africa and Nigeria, with offices in Johannesburg and Lagos, respectively. As its first move on the continent, Def Jam has signed a slew of African artists, many of who are already well-established in their native countries.

Nigeria brings on board Larry Gaaga and Vector, while South Africa has presented Nasty C, Casper Nyovest, Boity, Tellaman, Nadia Nakai, Tshego, and Ricky Tyler. “Def Jam has always been the ultimate destination for hip-hop and urban culture worldwide. It is a historic achievement that we’re now able to bring this iconic label to Africa,” said managing director of Universal Music Sub-Saharan Africa & South Africa, Sipho Dlamini.

Singles have already been lined up from Cassper Nyovest, Ricky Tyler, Tshego, Tellaman, Boity, and Vector, while Nasty C is due to release his forthcoming album, “Zulu Man with Some Power,” this summer.

Text excluding title courtesy Urbanislandz

9ice Releases New Album “Tip Of The Iceberg” Episode 1

9ice has finally released the 1st episode of his highly anticipated album, “Tip of the Iceberg.”

The release comes in the wake of his new single, “Oja Majemi” which features Olamide and Reminisce.

The new EP consists of 11 tracks, including collaborations with Olamide, Wande Coal and Reminisce.

“Atumarilaka” Is Olumense’s New Short Film

This new short film produced and directed by Olumense Omonjahio will leave you panting for more.

Starring Uzor Arukwe, Uche Elumelu, Chris Okagbue and Abisoye Balogun; this film is titled “Atumarilaka“.

Bimbo decided to have a small virtual get together for her birthday but a careless conversation changes their lives forever.

Watch the short film:

Music Star, Orezi Is The Cover Star For Latest Issue Of Man Magazine.

Nigerian musician Orezi is the latest cover star for Man Magazine Nigeria’s latest issue!

About their latest cover star, the publication wrote:

We are grateful that while it’s not safe to leave our homes during this period, a lot of musicians are taking the opportunity to create new music and entertain the masses the best way they can in this time of social distancing.

Inside the feature, the “Your Body” singer, answers 20 questions on his music, creative process and future collaborations.

@manmagng | @oreziworldwide
Photographer: @shots_by_mena

Text excluding title courtesy Bellanaija

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date