‘Oppenheimer’ dominates 2024 SAG Awards, setting stage for Oscars showdown

The Screen Actors Guild Awards made a triumphant return after a tumultuous year in Hollywood, with the 2024 edition showcasing the industry’s resilience and talent, per indiewire.com. Oppenheimer and The Bear emerged as major winners, with the former clinching the night’s top honour for its powerhouse performances led by Cillian Murphy, Emily Blunt and Robert Downey Jr.

The awards ceremony, which streamed live on Netflix for the first time, featured a diverse array of winners spanning both film and television.

Notable victories included Lily Gladstone’s historic win for her role in Killers of the Flower Moon, edging out Emma Stone in a surprising upset. Gladstone’s triumph injects an element of unpredictability into the upcoming Oscars race, challenging preconceived notions of frontrunners.

On the television front, The Last of Us and Succession claimed their share of accolades, with Pedro Pascal and Elizabeth Debicki among the celebrated stars. Additionally, stunt teams from The Last of Us and Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning, Part One were honoured for their outstanding contributions to action-packed entertainment.

Lily Gladstone wins at 2024 SAG Awards Image credit: NETFLIX

Amidst the celebration of achievements, the SAG Awards featured memorable reunions, including a Devil Wears Prada gathering and cast reunions from beloved classics like Modern Family and Breaking Bad. The event served as a testament to the enduring spirit of the entertainment industry, showcasing the resilience and creativity that define its essence. As Hollywood gears up for the Oscars, the stage is set for an exhilarating showdown between industry giants, promising an unforgettable climax to an extraordinary awards season.

See the full list of 2024 SAG Awards winners in both the film and TV categories below:


Motion Picture cast

American Fiction


The Color Purple

Killers of the Flower Moon

WINNER: Oppenheimer

Male Actor in a Leading Role — Motion Picture

Bradley Cooper, Maestro

Colman Domingo, Rustin

Paul Giamatti, The Holdovers

WINNER: Cillian Murphy, Oppenheimer

Jeffrey Wright, American Fiction

Female Actor in a Leading Role — Motion Picture

Annette Bening, Nyad

WINNER: Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon

Carey Mulligan, Maestro

Margot Robbie, Barbie

Emma Stone, Poor Things

Male Actor in a Supporting Role — Motion Picture

Sterling K. Brown, American Fiction

Willem Dafoe, Poor Things

Robert De Niro, Killers of the Flower Moon

WINNER: Robert Downey, Jr., Oppenheimer

Ryan Gosling, Barbie

Female Actor in a Supporting Role — Motion Picture

Emily Blunt, Oppenheimer

Danielle Brooks, The Color Purple

Penélope Cruz, Ferrari

Jodie Foster, Nyad

WINNER: Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers

Stunt Ensemble in a Motion Picture


Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny

John Wick: Chapter 4

WINNER: Mission: Impossible — Dead Reckoning, Part One


Drama Series Ensemble

The Crown

The Gilded Age

The Last of Us

The Morning Show

WINNER: Succession

Comedy Series Ensemble

Abbott Elementary


WINNER: The Bear

Only Murders in the Building

Ted Lasso

Male Actor in a TV movie or Miniseries

Matt Bomer, Fellow Travelers

Jon Hamm, Fargo

David Oyelowo, Lawmen: Bass Reeves

Tony Shalhoub, Mr. Monk’s Last Case: A Monk Movie

WINNER: Steven Yeun, Beef

Female Actor in a TV movie or Miniseries

Uzo Aduba, Painkiller

Kathryn Hahn, Tiny Beautiful Things

Brie Larson, Lessons in Chemistry

Bel Powley, A Small Light

WINNER: Ali Wong, Beef

Male Actor in a Drama Series

Brian Cox, Succession

Billy Crudup, The Morning Show

Kieran Culkin, Succession

Matthew Macfadyen, Succession

WINNER: Pedro Pascal, The Last of Us

Female Actor in a Drama Series

Jennifer Aniston, The Morning Show

WINNER: Elizabeth Debicki, The Crown

Bella Ramsey, The Last of Us

Keri Russell, The Diplomat

Sarah Snook, Succession

Male Actor in a Comedy Series

Brett Goldstein, Ted Lasso

Bill Hader, Barry

Ebon Moss-Bachrach, The Bear

Jason Sudeikis, Ted Lasso

WINNER: Jeremy Allen White, The Bear

Female Actor in a Comedy Series

Alex Borstein, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Rachel Brosnahan, The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

Quinta Brunson, Abbott Elementary

WINNER: Ayo Edebiri, The Bear

Hannah Waddingham, Ted Lasso

Stunt Ensemble in a TV Series




WINNER: The Last of Us

The Mandalorian

2024 SAG Life Achievement Award

Barbra Streisand


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date