Burna Boy, Wizkid nominated for BET Awards

Full List Below

The duo of Grammy-winning Nigerian hip hop artistes, Wizkid and Burna Boy got a nomination each at the 2021 BET Awards, as did another African,Tanzania’s Diamond Platinumz.

They have all been shortlisted in the Best International Act category in this year’s edition. Also on the same category are French singers, Aya Nakamura and Youssoupha; Brazilian act, Emicida; British acts, the rapper Headie One and the duo Yung T and Bugsey.

Burna Boy was the winner of the category last year while Wizkid won it in 2012 when the category had two divisions for Africa and the UK.

The BET Awards will be held on June 27 and will return with a live audience after being hosted virtually last year because of the Covid-19 pandemi.

American artistes Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby have each received seven nominations in this year’s awards.

Cardi B and Drake have been nominated for five awards.

Below is the complete list of nominees for BET AWARDS 2021:

Album Of The Year

After Hours – The Weeknd

Blame It On Baby – Dababy

Good News – Megan Thee Stallion

Heaux Tales – Jazmine Sullivan

King’s Disease – Nas

Ungodly Hour – Chloe X Halle

Best Collaboration

Cardi B Ft. Megan Thee Stallion – Wap

Dababy Ft. Roddy Ricch – Rockstar

Dj Khaled Ft. Drake – Popstar

Jack Harlow Ft. Dababy, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne – Whats Poppin (Remix)

Megan Thee Stallion Ft. Dababy – Cry Baby

Pop Smoke Ft. Lil Baby & Dababy – For The Night

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist



Jazmine Sullivan

Jhené Aiko

Summer Walker


Best Male R&B / Pop Artist


Anderson .Paak

Chris Brown



The Weeknd

Best New Artist

Coi Leray

Flo Milli


Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty

Best Group

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe X Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


Silk Sonic

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat

Megan Thee Stallion



Best Male Hip Hop Artist



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Lil Baby

Pop Smoke

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Bebe Winans – In Jesus Name

Cece Winans – Never Lost

H.E.R. – Hold Us Together

Kirk Franklin – Strong God

Marvin Sapp – Thank You For It All

Tamela Mann – Touch From You

Bet Her Award

Alicia Keys Ft. Khalid – So Done

Brandy Ft. Chance The Rapper – Baby Mama

Bri Steves – Anti Queen

Chloe X Halle – Baby Girl

Ciara Ft. Ester Dean – Rooted

Sza – Good Days

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Emicida (Brazil)

Headie One (Uk)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Young T & Bugsey (Uk)

Youssoupha (France)

Viewer’s Choice Award

Cardi B Ft. Megan Thee Stallion – Wap

Chris Brown & Young Thug – Go Crazy

Dababy Ft. Roddy Ricch – Rockstar

Dj Khaled Ft. Drake – Popstar

Drake Ft. Lil Durk – Laugh Now Cry Later

Lil Baby – The Bigger Picture

Megan Thee Stallion Ft. Beyoncé – Savage (Remix)

Silk Sonic – Leave The Door Open

Video Of The Year

Cardi B – Up

Cardi B Ft. Megan Thee Stallion – Wap

Chloe X Halle – Do It

Chris Brown & Young Thug – Go Crazy

Drake Ft. Lil Durk – Laugh Now Cry Later

Silk Sonic – Leave The Door Open

Video Director Of The Year

Benny Boom

Bruno Mars And Florent Déchard

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams

Best Movie

Coming 2 America

Judas And The Black Messiah

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

One Night In Miami…


The United States Vs. Billie Holiday

Best Actress

Andra Day

Angela Bassett

Issa Rae

Jurnee Smollett

Viola Davis


Best Actor

Aldis Hodge

Chadwick Boseman

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Eddie Murphy

Lakeith Stanfield

Youngstars Award

Alex R. Hibbert

Ethan Hutchison

Lonnie Chavis

Marsai Martin

Michael Epps

Storm Reid

Sportswoman Of The Year Award

A’ja Wilson

Candace Parker

Claressa Shields

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins-Smith

Sportsman Of The Year Award

Kyrie Irving

Lebron James

Patrick Mahomes

Russell Westbrook

Russell Wilson

Stephen Curry

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date