Burna Boy, Rema, Wizkid dominate Rolling Stone’s Top 40 Afropop list

Nigeria’s Burna Boy, Rema and Wizkid have made Rolling Stone’s inaugural list of top Afropop songs.

Others on the list are Ghana’s Black Sherif, and South Africa’s Kabza De Small and Uncle Waffles.

Rolling Stone says the list of Afropop’s top songs scans West, East, and Southern Africa for singles that defined seasons, scenes, moods, and movements all over. 

“Yet rather than recognizing global impact alone, this list also serves as a celebration of what mattered to folks in the cars, clubs, and subcultures on the continent”.

The US publication announced the list, which spans contemporary sonic pulses from the continent this year, including Afrobeats, amapiano and gengetone as well as more Western sounds like R&B and hip hop.

“This year, pop from Africa reached new heights globally, building on the growing global renown that has attended Afrobeats and amapiano” Rolling Stone said of its inaugural list of Afropop’s top songs. “Rather than recognising global impact alone, this list also serves as a celebration of what mattered to folks in the cars, clubs, and subcultures on the continent.” 

Nigeria, as the list indicates, is the leading contributor to popular music from the continent, with Afrobeats artistes taking up more than 20 slots. Stars like Burna Boy, Oxlade, Asake, Ayra Starr and Pheelz also occupy six of the top 10 spots, complemented by South Africa’s Daliwonga, Uncle Waffles and Kabza De Small, as well as Ghanaian hip hop star Black Sherif.

Kenyan acts Buruklyn Boyz and Unco Jingjong, as well as Tanzanian artiste Marioo, are the other notable names on the list.

See the list below:

Burna Boy, ‘Last Last’

Oxlade, ‘Kulosa’

Asake feat Burna Boy, ‘Sungba’ remix

Ayra Starr, ‘Rush’

Pheelz feat BNXN, ‘Finesse’

Daliwonga feat. Mellow and Sleazy, and M.J, ‘Abo Mvelo’

Black Sherif, ‘Kweku the Traveller’

Uncle Waffles feat. Tony Duardo, Sino Msolo, and BoiBizza,‘Tanzania’

Mavins (Crayon, Ayra Starr, LADIPOE, Magixx, and Boy Spyce), ‘Overloading (OVERDOSE)’

Kabza De Small feat. Msaki, ‘Khusela’

Unco JingJong, ‘Dancehalling’ 

Asake, ‘Joha’

Kizz Daniel and Tekno, ‘Buga (Lo Lo Lo)’

Aṣa, ‘Show Me Off’

Victony and Tempoe, ‘Soweto’

Young Jonn, ‘Xtra Cool’ 

Buruklyn Boyz, ‘Pree’ 

Camidoh feat. Mayorkun, King Promise, and Darkoo, ‘Sugarcane (Remix)’

CKay feat. Davido, Focalistic, and Abidoza, ‘WATAWI’

Fireboy DML and Asake, ‘Bandana’

Blaqbonez, ‘Back in Uni’

K.O feat. Young Stunna and Blxckie, ‘SETE’

Wizkid feat. Ayra Starr, ‘2 Sugar’

Rema, ‘Calm Down’

Wakadinali, ‘Mc Mca’

Ruger, ‘Girlfriend’

Crayon, ‘Ijo (Laba Laba)’

Omah Lay, ‘Woman’

Amaarae, ‘A Body, A Coffin’

Venom and Shishiliza feat. Yumbs, Raspy, Blxckie, Riky Rick, and Tshego, ‘Sondela’

NATIVE Sound System feat. MOJO AF, PsychoYP, Fresh L, Zamir), ‘Pim Pam’

Adekunle Gold, ‘5 Star’

Somadina, ‘Citrus Tears’

AKA feat. Nasty C, ‘Lemons (Lemonade)’

Cruel Santino, ‘Final Champion’

Davido, ‘Stand Strong’

Nomfundo Moh, ‘Soft Life’

9umba, TOSS, and Mdoovar feat. Sir Trill, Sino Msolo, Lady Du, Young Stunna, and Slade, ‘uMlando’

Jovial x Marioo, ‘Mi Amor’

Lojay, DJ Maphorisa, and Kabza De Small, ‘Canada’


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date