Billie Eilish, Finneas, others invited to join Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

Billie Eilish and Finneas, who won the Oscar for Best Original Song for the James Bond theme “No Time to Die” in March, have both been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, according to a press release from the organisation. They’re part of a nearly 400-strong group invited to join the Academy this year, along with Ariana DuBose, Anya Taylor-Joy, and Troy Kotsur. 

The pair released “No Time to Die”  in early 2020, but the COVID-19 pandemic delayed the movie’s release until October 2021. 

According to Pitchfork, the pair, who more recently wrote “Nobody Like U” for Disney’s Turning Red, performed “No Time to Die” at the 2022 award ceremony in March. 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date