Women’s Prize for Fiction announces 2024 shortlist

The Women’s Prize Trust, dedicated to promoting women in literature, has revealed the shortlist for its fiction prize, focusing on English-language novels by women, per lithub.com. This year’s selection features six outstanding works that explore intimate family dynamics and the broader sweep of history through the lens of women’s experiences.

The shortlisted novels are:

– Anne Enright’s The Wren

– V. V. Ganeshananthan’s Brotherless Night

– Kate Grenville’s Restless Dolly Maunder

– Isabella Hammad’s Enter Ghost

– Claire Kilroy’s Soldier Sailor

– Aube Rey Lescure’s River East, River West

The winner, to be announced on June 13, 2024, will receive £30,000 and the prestigious “Bessie” statuette. 

Judges Monica Ali, Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀, Laura Dockrill, Indira Varma and Anna Whitehouse will make the selection. 

Last year’s winner was Barbara Kingsolver for Demon Copperhead.


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date