Women lead in James Cropper Wainwright Prize longlist

The James Cropper Wainwright Prize longlist has been announced, and for the first time in the prize’s 10-year history, women dominate all three longlists. 

A total of 26 of the 36 titles on the longlist were written by female authors, including Kerri ní Dochartaigh, Mya-Rose Craig and Kiran Millwood Hargrave. 

Independent publishers dominate the longlist, and former winners Dara McAnulty, Amy Liptrot, and Adam Nicolson are longlisted alongside 2022 Yoto Carnegie winner, Katya. The prize pot has also been increased this year. 

The James Cropper Wainwright Prize is awarded to the work which best reflects nature writer Alfred Wainwright’s core values and celebrates nature and our relationship with the natural world. 

The longlisted books reflect the range and depth of nature writing, with titles that cover topics such as climate change, conservation, and the natural world.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date