Today in #TheLagosReview

What’s Coming to Netflix in February 2020

It’s time to take at what’s coming to Netflix in the United States throughout February 2020. We’ve got the big and only ongoing list on the internet of what’s coming to Netflix throughout the month.

February is usually a much quieter month for new Netflix releases than others which usually comes down to just the general time of year and the fact it traditionally has fewer days of the month.

In terms of what you can expect from Netflix, as it’s approaching valentine’s day you’ll be able to see a few new romantic movies the service is making headlined by the likes of To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You. You can see an extended list of the Netflix Originals coming in February 2020 here.

Note: we’ve now received a bigger list of what’s coming to Netflix in February as always more will be announced. (full list for January). We’ll keep this post updated throughout January and February reflecting any newly announced titles for the two months.

Read more:

https://www.whats-on-netflix.com/coming-soon/whats-coming-to-netflix-in-february-2020-01-29/

Text courtesy whatsonnetflix.com

Moët Film Gala delivers All The Nollywood Inspiration You need with Daniel Etim Effiong, Kate Henshaw, Mawuli Gavor & Omotola Jalade Ekeinde

On the 2nd of February,2020, Moët Film Gala will host stars to a night of art, glamour and exquisite dining. With over 2000 glasses of Moët & Chandon to be paired with a six-course dinner, there will be countless Moët Moments to adorn the occasion.

In anticipation of the second edition, Ayo ‘AY’ Makun, Dakore Egbuson-Akande, Daniel Etim Effiong, Kate Henshaw, Mawuli Gavor, Nancy Isime, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde, Osas Ighodaro, Timini Egbuson, Toni Tones, and Shaffy Bello discuss the past, the present and the future of the Nigerian Film Industry.

Let’s get into it
Daniel Etim Effiong

Actor, Filmmaker

Question: The Moët Film Gala is on February 2nd and since it is a turn of the decade, we are celebrating iconic moments as well as icons in Nollywood. In your opinion what has been the most iconic thing that has happened in the last decade?

Answer: I think the most iconic thing to happen in the last 10 years is the fact that we are retelling old stories, for example, the remake of “Living in Bondage” was breathtaking and iconic. It has inspired filmmakers to explore other story remakes, which is phenomenal and it is what the industry needs. We have so many powerful stories and with the growth in technology there are better ways to tell these stories, it is a win-win for everyone.

Kate Henshaw

Actor, Fitness Enthusiast & Social Advocate

Question: What legacy do you want to leave behind?

Answer: For me it is professionalism. Being authentic, truthful to yourself, and not following the crowd. I want people to think of me as someone who is professional. Who shows up on time, gives 100 percent and goes above and beyond the call of duty to make sure her craft is appreciated. I want people to see me as someone who brings authenticity and humility to a role, someone who is essential, herself. Away from the limelight who are you? and in the limelight who are you? I am ME, knowing fully well there is an expectation of me.

Mawuli Gavor

Actor, Presenter & Producer

Question: What type of movies are you excited for the industry to create in this decade?

Answer: I want to see superhero films from Africa, that is the next step. We have the talent to create movies that require complex visual effects. A personal goal for this decade is to feature in an African superhero movie. I believe with the current developments in the visual effects space this is definitely possible.

Omotola Jalade- Ekeinde

MFR, Actor, Entrepreneur & Activist

Question: What are you most excited about in Nollywood?

Answer: I’m most excited about the growth and our more diverse global audience. When I started in this industry in 1993/1994, it wasn’t something to be proud of. We got scolded by our parents all the time because we said we are artists. You couldn’t say, I’m an actor, It was a taboo. Now, fast forward to 2020, young kids can actually say I’m an actor, I’m a singer, this is what I do for a living. I think it’s amazing.

BellaNaija is a media partner for Moët Film Gala

Funmi Iyanda at Göteborg Film Festival for Walking with Shadows premiere

Media personality, Funmi Iyanda, has begun the screening of her new movie, Walking with Shadows, at the Göteborg Film Festival in Gothenburg, Sweden.

The 48-year-old took to Instagram on Thursday to share a picture from the event, saying: “Last night at the Nordic premiere of @wwsthemovie @gbgfilmfestival 💥💥.”

The movie will continue screening till February 1.

Göteborg Film Festival is the largest film festival in Scandinavia. The 10-day festival showcases nearly 450 films from some 80 countries from across the world.

Walking with Shadows is a movie based on Jude Dibia’s 2005 book of the same name.

It was written and directed by Aoife O’Kelly, starring Zainab Balogun, Funlola Aofiyebi-Raimi and Adunni Ade among others.

Its Lagos premiere was held in November last year.

Text courtesy qed.ng

Béla Fleck Announces ‘Africa Sessions’ Compilation & New Album With Toumani Diabaté ‘The Ripple Effect’

Bela Fleck announced the release of new collaborative album The Ripple Effect with kora master Toumani Diabate as part of the compilation Throw Down Your Heart: The Complete Africa Sessions, all due out on March 27 via Craft Recordings. The banjo virtuoso also shared the first single from The Ripple Effect, “Nashville.”

Throw Down Your Heart: The Complete Africa Sessions brings together Béla’s Grammy-winning 2009 album Tales from the Acoustic Planet, Vol. 3—Africa Sessions along with Africa Sessions Part 2: Unreleased Tracks as well as The Ripple Effect with kora player Toumani Diabaté. The kora is a forerunner and cousin of the banjo. The collection, including three discs of music and a DVD, document Fleck’s journeys in Africa to discover the roots of the banjo.

“I knew that my beloved instrument had originally come from West Africa,” Fleck wrote in a statement. “And from time to time I found tantalizing tidbits of African acoustic music that gave me the confidence to know that there was a phenomenal amount of incredible stuff going on under the radar.”

Then, Flecktones saxophonist Jeff Coffin played Béla a recording of renowned Malian singer Oumou Sangare. “I was literally stunned,” Fleck remembers. “I’d had this reaction only a few times — when music was so compelling that everything had to stop while I listened. Earl Scruggs’ banjo did it to me. Chick Corea’s music did it to me. And so did this.”

As fate would have it, one of Fleck’s old bluegrass friends managed Sangare and the singer invited Béla to Mali which kicked off a three-nation journey Fleck described as “a nonstop set of intense, powerful and joyful musical interactions. Every day for five weeks, I was meeting musicians, and filming pieces with them in their homes, other unconventional locations, and even on rare occasions – recording studios. We recorded/filmed over 30 pieces so it came out to something like a tune per day while we were there.”

Béla’s interest in African music and the roots of the banjo led him to team up with Diabaté for The Ripple Effect. Listen to the album’s lead single, “Nashville,” below:

Throw Down Your Heart: The Complete Africa Sessions Tracklist
Disc One: Throw Down Your Heart, Part One
Tulinesangala – Nakisenyi Women’s Group (Uganda)
Kinetsa – D’Gary (Madagascar)
Ah Ndiya – Oumou Sangare (Mali)
Kabibi – Anania Ngoliga (Tanzania)
Angelina – Luo Cultural Association (Uganda)
D’Gary Jam – D’Gary, Béla Fleck, Oumou Sangare, Richard Bona, Baba Maal, Vusi Mahlasela, Afel Bocoum, Anania Ngoliga, Toumani Diabaté, and friends (Madagascar, Uganda, Mali, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Cameroon)
Throw Down Your Heart – Harouna Samake Trio and Bassekou Kouate (Mali)
Thula Mama – Vusi Mahlasela (South Africa)
Wairenziante – Muwewesu Xylophone Group (Uganda)
Buribalal – Afel Bocoum (Mali)
Zawose – Chibite – The Zawose Family (Tanzania)
Ajula/Mbamba – The Jatta Family (The Gambia)
Pakugyenda Balebauo – Warema Masiaga Cha Cha (Tanzania)
Jesus Is the Only Answer – Ateso Jazz Band (Uganda)
Matitu – Khalifan Matitu (Tanzania)
Mariam – Djelimady Tounkara (Mali)
Djorolen – Oumou Sangare (Mali)
Dunia Haina Wema/Thumb Fun – Anania Ngoliga (Tanzania)
Disc Two: Throw Down Your Heart, Part Two
Spirit Song – Haruna Walisimbe, Okiror, and Ronald Mabandha (Uganda)
Salam Aleikum – Afel Bocoum, Hama Sankare, Yoro Cisse, Barou Diallo, and Zoumana Tereta(Mali)
Chant – Masai Warriors (Tanzania)
The Rights of Man / Ya Fama – Harouna Samake, Madou Sanogo, and Habib Sangare(Mali)
Kamungoro – Albert Bisaso Ssempeke Jr. (Uganda)
Kandjo – Bassekou Kouyate, Ami Sacko, and Alou Coulibazy(Mali)
Obughangwa – Muwewesu Xylophone Group(Uganda)
Soumauro – Djelimady Tounkara and Alou Coulibazy(Mali)
Furaha –Tanzania (Anania Ngoliga)
Mar Rano – D’Gary, Xavier-Martial François, and Roy “FutureMan” Wooten(Madagascar)
Jesus of Banjul – Jesus Jah Jarju (The Gambia)
Mali Jam – Free Jam: Djelimady Tounkara, Harouna Samake, Bassekou Kouate, Lassana Diabaté, and Alou Coulibazy(Mali)
Kayi Ni Wura – Oumou Sangare, Souleymane Sidibe, Zoumana Tereta, Benogo Diakite, Sékou Bah, Sékou Diabaté, and Nabintou Diakate (Mali)
Old Joe Jatta – Remi Jatta, Naser Sambou, Phgusiteh Sambou, Frederick Jatta, Sega Jatta, Joseph Sambou, Abdoulie Saine, and Samba Bah (The Gambia)
Disc Three: Toumani Diabaté and Béla Fleck — The Ripple Effect, Throw Down Your Heart Part 3
Bamako
Nashville
Snug Harbor
Elyne Road
Matitu/Buribalal
Manchester
Throw Down Your Heart
Kauonding Sissoko
Katmandu
Dueling Banjos

A peek into the process behind the popular Obama portraits

In the past two decades, it has become a rite of passage for soon-to-be-former presidents and first ladies to have their portraits commissioned by the National Portrait Gallery in Washington. Given the glamour of Barack and Michelle Obama and the historic nature of their tenure, gallery officials anticipated a healthy interest in their portraits. Little did they know. The two weeks after the paintings’ public unveiling in February 2018 saw more than 4,100 articles about them published in the domestic and international press. Annual attendance at the museum almost doubled over the next year.

With copious photos, the book “The Obama Portraits” details the creation of the paintings while delving into the significance of their unprecedented popularity.

The choice of artists, both African American, was leaked while the portraits were being executed. Kehinde Wiley, known for his large-scale depictions of African American men in poses and trappings inspired by famous paintings from art history, was painting the president. Amy Sherald had been commissioned to paint the first lady. Sherald had received attention for paintings of African Americans that included many she had met on the streets of her native Baltimore.

In the days, weeks and months after the unveiling, lines snaked around the National Portrait Gallery’s Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard. Some visitors waited hours to catch a glimpse of the portraits. (© 2018, The Washington Post)
In the days, weeks and months after the unveiling, lines snaked around the National Portrait Gallery’s Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard. Some visitors waited hours to catch a glimpse of the portraits. (© 2018, The Washington Post)
Any portrait painter can expect to enter into a struggle with the sitter, as the artist’s vision is unlikely to match exactly the sitter’s self-image. Wiley initially intended to pose the president in a royal manner. In Obama’s comments at the unveiling ceremony — reprinted in the book in full — he explained that the artist’s plan was to “elevate me and put me in these settings with partridges and scepters and thrones and shift robes and mounting me on horses. And I had to explain that I’ve got enough political problems without you making me look like Napoleon. We’ve gotta bring it down just a touch.”

Michelle Obama and Amy Sherald stand alongside the newly unveiled portrait of the former first lady at a ceremony on Feb. 12, 2018. (Pete Souza)
Michelle Obama and Amy Sherald stand alongside the newly unveiled portrait of the former first lady at a ceremony on Feb. 12, 2018. (Pete Souza)
Sherald chose to paint the first lady in a dress designed by Michelle Smith. The choice was a nod both to art history and African American heritage. The geometric designs, Sherald said, call to mind the paintings of Piet Mondrian and the patchwork creations of the now-famous quiltmakers of Gee’s Bend, Ala. Sherald aroused comment with the gray tones of the first lady’s skin in the portrait. She explained that the skin tones were reminiscent of and paid homage to the humble black-and-white photographs of African American women a century ago, women who were not the subjects of large-scale painted portraits.

The wildly popular Obama portraits are going on a year-long tour to museums across the country

In an essay in the book, the Portrait Gallery’s director, Kim Sajet, writes that large crowds still make the trip specifically to see the Obama portraits.

“Where religious pilgrims once carried guidebooks and devotional texts to direct their journey, visitors today carry museum guides and mobile phones,” Sajet writes. “Leaving the familiarities of their daily lives, they travel into these temple-like spaces to experience something emotional, something bigger than themselves.”

The selfies taken with the portraits must surely number in the hundreds of thousands by now, a mark of their cultural significance. To reach an even larger audience, the paintings will go on a year-long tour, beginning in June 2021, to five cities across the country.

Reagan Upshaw is an art dealer and critic in Beacon, N.Y.

VIDEO REVIEW:
Faze makes a comeback with new track titled, ‘Lovina’.

If you are a little short of twenty, you might probably not be familiar with the music artiste called Faze.

He was once a big deal, clogging the airwaves with a selection of hit tracks that made him one of the most sought after artiste in the game, long before the new crop of artistes took over.

And changed everything.

But Faze is back.

He kicks off the year with a new single produced by AceSoundz titled, ‘Lovina’ and a video.

Unlimited LA makes a statement with this video.
A subtle statement with his signature crisp cinematography and clever storyline.

His representation of the song ‘Lovina’ though cliche, creates a feel-good vibration that is Faze appropriate.

Faze looks good in this video and plays it really cool. A vibe that is second nature to him and that he carries easily.

His insistence to get a girls attention and affection, sees him go through several rejections until he hits paydirt.

No points for storytelling.

We hope this track gives Faze the needed boost he needs to get his music career out of obscurity and back on track.

Fingers crossed.

More Stories
Kate Henshaw speaks on her win at Rapid Lion 2020 awards.