Neil Young unveils new album, “Before and After”

Neil Young, the legendary Canadian singer-songwriter, has announced his upcoming album titled “Before and After”. The album is set to release on December 8, 2023 and will feature 13 tracks. The tracks are solo acoustic re-recordings of songs from throughout Young’s catalogue, with one previously unreleased track, “If You Got Love”. 

The album is a collection of stripped-down acoustic renditions of 13 songs from throughout his 50-plus-year career. The 13-track album offers new renditions of a mix of deep cuts and better-known tunes. The track list spans from a version of “Burned,” which first appeared on Buffalo Springfield’s 1966 self-titled debut album, through a rendition of “Don’t Forget Love,” a song from Young’s 2021 album with Crazy Horse, Barn. Before and After also features a previously unreleased song called “If You Got Love” that dates back to the sessions for Young’s 1983 album Trans.

Young co-produced “Before and After” with Lou Adler, who’s best known for his work with The Mamas and the Papas, and on Carole King’s landmark album Tapestry. The album can be pre-ordered now and will be available on CD, as a standard black-vinyl or limited-edition clear-vinyl LP, on Blu-ray, and via high-res digital formats. The Blu-ray features an Atmos mix, a Binaural mix, and a hi-res digital version. The clear-vinyl edition will be sold exclusively at independent record outlets and Young’s Greedy Hand online store.

This is an exciting announcement for Neil Young fans who have been eagerly waiting for new music from the artiste.


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date