First-time authors win Australia’s richest annual literary prize

Five of the eight winners at this year’s Victorian premier’s literary awards are debuts, with Jessica Au winning two categories for her second book, Cold Enough for Snow.

As reported by The Guardian, winners at this year’s Australian richest annual literary prize include a novella little more than 100 pages long collecting the $100,000 Victorian prize for literature.

Cold Enough for Snow by Melbourne writer Jessica Au also won the fiction category at the Victorian premier’s literary awards on Thursday night, bringing her total winnings to $125,000 for a book the Guardian’s critic Imogen Dewey described as “graceful and precise”.

The judges praised Au’s novella, which follows the finely nuanced relationship between mother and daughter as they travel through Japan, as “quietly powerful” and a “deftly woven novel from a writer in command of her craft”.

The book has already exposed Au to an international audience, having won the inaugural biennial Novel prize in 2020, an international award that guarantees publication in the UK, Ireland, US, Australia and New Zealand.

The slim volume was unanimously selected from some 1,500 entries to win the Novel prize, with the New York Times comparing Au’s talent to that of Albert Camus.

Cold Enough for Snow is the second book from Au, who works as an editor and bookseller. Her first book, Cargo, was published 12 years ago.

Among the categories of nonfiction, Indigenous writing, poetry and young adult categories, new writers dominate this year’s Victorian premier’s literary awards.

Turkish-Australian essayist Eda Gunaydin, a University of Wollongong lecturer, won the nonfiction prize for her debut collection, Root & Branch: Essays on Inheritance.

Lystra Rose, a writer of the Guugu Yimithirr, Birri Gubba and Erub nations and Scottish descent, won the Indigenous writing prize for her debut young adult fantasy fiction novel The Upwelling, which weaves the language and practices of the Yugambeh people into the narrative.

The young adult prize was won by New Zealand-born, Melbourne-based writer Kate Murray for her debut novel We Who Hunt the Hollow, also a fantasy novel.

A collection of poems about family, loss, heartbreak, history and erasure, collectively titled At the Altar of Touch, won Beijing-born Brisbane writer Gavin Yuan Gao the poetry category.

The play The Return, by Saibai Island (Torres Strait) dramatist John Harvey, won the drama prize. The work attracted highly positive reviews when it debuted at Melbourne’s Malthouse theatre during last year’s Rising festival.

All of the category winners collect $25,000 each.

The $15,000 Unpublished Manuscript award was won by Melbourne writer Mick Cummins for “One Divine Night” which “explores homelessness, social systems and family complexities”, while the $2,000 People’s Choice award went to Karlie Noon and Krystal De Napoli’s Astronomy: Sky Country, which explores the long history of astronomy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date