Earl Lovelace

Earl Lovelace short fiction prize opens call for entries

A short fiction prize in honour of Earl Lovelace, a renowned writer from the Caribbean has been established by Nigerian writer and publisher, Onyeka Nwelue.

Writers have been invited to submit their themed short story for the Earl Lovelace Short Fiction Prize administered by @abibimanpublishing.

Entries for the Earl Lovelace Short Fiction Prize will open Monday 11 April 2022. Interested writers should submit their themed short story at: editorial@abibimanpublishing.com with the Subject: EARL LOVELACE PRIZE. The winner of the prize will be awarded £500.

Criteria: New work of fiction of 2,500 words with the following themes:

  1. Legacy
  2. Displacement
  3. Change

Shortlisted works will be published in an anthology to be edited by Abibiman Publishing.

Writers can find out more about the prize by visiting: www.abibimanpublishing.com

Deadline for submission is Thursday 5 May. The shortlist of seven entries will be announced Sunday 12 June and the winner will be announced Wednesday 13 July 2022.

The judges of the 2022 Earl Lovelace Short Fiction Prize are: 

Chioma Okereke – Chair (Britain), Lidudumalingani – (South Africa), Tathiana Cassano – (Brazil), Ikenna Okeh – (Nigeria), W Alter – (The Netherlands/Suriname), and Javier Gutierrez Lozano – (Mexico)


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date