Chika Unigwe is head judge of the Caine Prize 2024

The Caine Prize for African Writing has unveiled its esteemed panel of judges for the 2024 edition. Award-winning Nigerian author Chika Unigwe takes the helm as Chair.

Unigwe, a prolific writer of fiction and non-fiction, brings a wealth of experience to the table. Her acclaimed works include the award-winning novel On Black Sisters’ Street and the short story collection Better Never Than Late. Having recently received the Order of the Crown from Belgium for her literary contributions, Unigwe expressed her honour in a statement: “I’m deeply honoured to judge alongside such a distinguished group,” she said. “African writing is thriving, and we’re sure to encounter stories that demand to be read, reread, and shared.”

Joining Unigwe on the panel are four distinguished individuals. Zimbabwean writer, scholar, and filmmaker Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu, Sierra Leonean poet, artist, and filmmaker Julianknxx, South African Hip-Hop artist Tumi Molekane, also known as Stogie T, and Ghanaian author Ayesha Harruna Attah complete the lineup.

Unigwe emphasised that the Caine Prize seeks “the most audacious, the boldest” stories, regardless of the writer’s career stage. Interim Director Vimbai Shire echoed this sentiment, highlighting the judges’ diverse expertise and passion for storytelling.


The deadline for entries closed  at midnight GMT, April 19.

The Caine Prize annually recognises the finest short story by an African writer, published in English, during the preceding five years. Shortlisted stories and their authors will be announced in mid-July, culminating in a prestigious award ceremony held in London this September.

The shortlisted authors will be awarded £500 each, with the overall winner receiving a prestigious £10,000 prize. The winning story, along with the shortlisted entries, will be published in an anthology by Cassava Republic Press, gaining further exposure on a global stage.

The judges will convene in September to deliberate and select the winner, who will be announced at the London ceremony.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date