BBC National Short Story Award unveils dazzling shortlist for 2023 edition

The shortlist for the 2023 BBC National Short Story Award with Cambridge University was unveiled Thursday on BBC Radio 4’s Front Row. This prestigious award, now celebrating its 18th year, promises a substantial £15,000 prize for the winning author, with each remaining shortlisted writer receiving £600.

Reeta Chakrabarti, Chair of the Judging Panel, expressed her admiration for the shortlisted authors, saying, “My huge congratulations to the five authors who have made the shortlist on this highly competitive award in an outstandingly strong year. The short story leaves the author absolutely nowhere to hide; it demands discipline and precision. We on the judging panel read many top-class entries, and these five were the most glittering—topical, challenging, and beautifully calibrated.”

As the literary world eagerly awaits the announcement of the winner on September 26, we extend our heartfelt congratulations to the following shortlisted writers:

  1. “The Storm” by Nick Mulgrew
  2. “It’s Me” by K Patrick
  3. “Guests” by Cherise Saywell
  4. “Churail” by Kamila Shamsie
  5. “Comorbidities” by Naomi Wood

These talented authors have captivated readers and judges alike with their storytelling prowess. The 2023 BBC National Short Story Award promises to be a fiercely contested battle of literary excellence, with a substantial reward awaiting the ultimate victor.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date