Awele Creative Trust unveils 2023 ACT Award for young Nigerian writers

The Awele Creative Trust has announced the 2023 ACT Award, a prestigious literary accolade aimed at recognising outstanding short stories by Nigeria writers aged 16 to 26.

With the submission window set to close on January 10, 2024, the heart of this literary extravaganza lies in the captivating entries submitted by the vibrant pool of young talents.

Writers across the nation are urged to seize the opportunity to showcase their literary prowess and vie for the coveted prize.

The main highlight of the award is the impressive N50,000 prize awaiting the creator of the most captivating short story. Awele Creative Trust is not only fostering creativity but also empowering young minds through this generous reward.

Chika Unigwe, the renowned author and founder of ACT Award, took to social media to spread the word, urging potential wordsmiths to grasp this chance to shine. Her post has since garnered likes and enthusiastic comments, creating a buzz around the literary community.

Those eager to participate can find detailed guidelines and additional information on the official website

Akunna James-Ibe emerged winner in the 2022 ACT Award with the short story, “Ndubuisi”.

The Awele Creative Trust announced the winner saying the judges chose the story set in a dystopian future where oxygen is a luxury, for its  “accessible, precise prose,” as “James-Ibe gives us a compelling,  heartbreaking story in which a  protagonist who’s lost almost everything else must make a choice between his dignity and his life.”

The winner beat off stiff competition from nine other writers such as;

Daniel Ogba for “Mockingbird”

Ifeoma Aroh for “Uloma”

Nnamdi Vin-Anuonye for “I Hope You Dance”

Osahon Izeiyamu for “Me, a Catalyst”

Godwin Adah for “Shine Shine Bobo”

Cole Olasubomi for “How to Love You Again”

Michael Emmanuel for “Everything Ends in Cycles”

Chinenye Anwunah for “Mirror On The Wall”

Rafiat Lamidi for “Traveller”

Awele Creative Trust, a non-profit organisation, was set up in 2014 with Prof. Akachi Ezeigbo, Prof. Femi Osofisan, Kanene Dieobi and Ichie Nnaeto Orazulike as board members.

The first ACT was awarded in January 2015 to Caleb Adebayo. The judges have included Justine Labalestier, Brian Chikwava, Toni Kan Onwordi, Madeleine Thien, Joe Dunthorne, Chibundu Onuzo, Vamba Sherif and Monica Arac d’Nyeko.

As the deadline approaches, anticipation builds for the unveiling of the exceptional narratives that will compete for the esteemed 2023 ACT Award.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date