78th Edgar Awards celebrate mystery genre’s finest

The Mystery Writers Association revealed the winners of the prestigious Edgar Awards for the best mystery fiction and nonfiction published in the previous year, per bookriot.com. Celebrating its 78th annual award ceremony, the Edgar Awards honoured outstanding contributions to the genre.

Among the highlights of the event, renowned authors R. L. Stine and Katherine Hall Page were presented with the Grand Master Award in recognition of their significant contributions and exceptional body of work to the mystery genre. Additionally, Michaela Hamilton, from Kensington Books, was bestowed with the Ellery Queen Award for her remarkable contributions to the mystery publishing industry.

The winners of the various categories include:

– Best Novel: Flags on the Bayou by James Lee Burke

– Best First Novel by An American Author: The Peacock and the Sparrow by I.S. Berry

Edgar Award logo and statue

– Best Paperback Original: Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto

– Best Fact Crime: Crooked: The Roaring ’20s Tale of a Corrupt Attorney General, a Crusading Senator, and the Birth of the American Political Scandal by Nathan Masters

– Best Critical/Biographical: Love Me Fierce in Danger: The Life of James Ellroy by Steven Powell

– Best Short Story: “Hallowed Ground” by Linda Castillo

– Best Juvenile: The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto by Adrianna Cuevas

– Best Young Adult: Girl Forgotten by April Henry

Special awards were also given:

– The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award: Play the Fool by Lina Chern

– The G. P. Putnam’s Sons Sue Grafton Memorial Award: An Evil Heart by Linda Castillo

– The Lilian Jackson Braun Memorial Award: Glory Be by Danielle Arceneaux

Furthermore, Nora Zuckerman & Lilla Zuckerman won the award for Best Television Episode Teleplay for Poker Face‘s Escape from Shit Mountain. The Robert L. Fish Memorial Award was presented to The Body in Cell Two by Kate Hohl, published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine (May-June 2023).

The judging panels, representing diverse regions, subcategories and demographics, ensured comprehensive representation throughout the evaluation process.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date