Submissions for the 2021 AKO Caine Prize For African Writing Opens With A Few Adjustments

The deadline to enter the 2021 Prize is 31st January 2021.

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, there have been some major alterations to the usual dates and process of submissions to the prestigious AKO Caine Prize for African Writing.

The following announcement was made on the social media handles of the AKo Caine as regards this new arrangements.

This year, in light of the coronavirus pandemic, we’re moving to online submissions for the 2021 Prize edition. Please send your stories submissions for the AKO @CainePrize 2021 to
Looking forward to reading your works!

Here are the revised eligibility requirements:

  • Unpublished work is not eligible for the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing.
  • Submissions should be made by publishers only.
  • Only fictional work is eligible.
  • Only one story per author will be considered in any one year.
  • Submissions should specify which African country the author comes from & the word count.
  • Works not eligible for entry include stories for children, factual writing, plays, biography, works shorter than 3000 words and unpublished work.
  • We will not be accepting hard copies for the 2021 Prize, so please do not send your submissions via post. We will only be accepting submissions made online to email at
  • Deadline to enter the 2021 Prize is 31st January 2021.


The AKO Caine Prize for African Writing is a registered charity whose aim is to bring African writing to a wider audience using our annual literary award. In addition to administering the Prize, we work to connect readers with African writers through a series of public events, as well as helping emerging writers in Africa to enter the world of mainstream publishing through the annual Caine Prize writers’ workshop which takes place in a different African country each year.

The stories written at Caine Prize workshops are published annually alongside the Prize’s shortlisted stories in the annual Caine Prize Anthology by New Internationalist in the UK and publishers in eight African countries including, Jacana Media (South Africa), Cassava Republic (Nigeria), Kwani? (Kenya), Sub-Saharan Publishers (Ghana), FEMRITE (Uganda), Gadsen Publishers (Zambia), ‘amaBooks (Zimbabwe) and Langaa (Cameroon).

It is named after the late Sir Michael Caine, former Chairman of Booker plc, who was Chairman of the ‘Africa 95’ arts festival in Europe and Africa in 1995 and for nearly 25 years Chairman of the Booker Prize management committee. After his death, friends and colleagues decided to establish a prize of £10,000 to be awarded annually in his memory.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date