Rainbow Book Club congratulates 2023 Nigeria Prize for Literature finalists

In a grand celebration of literary achievement, the Rainbow Book Club extends its heartfelt congratulations to the three talented writers shortlisted for the prestigious 2023 Nigeria Prize for Literature (NPL). 

Established in 2004, the NPL has continually showcased the finest literary talents across four genres: prose, poetry, drama, and children’s books.

The momentous announcement of the NPL finalists was made by Mr. Andy Odeh, the General Manager of External Relations and Sustainable Development at Nigeria Liquified Natural Gas (NLNG). The NLNG has been a steadfast supporter of this literary endeavour, solidifying its place as Africa’s most significant literary award.

The three outstanding books that emerged from the initial longlist of 11 are:

  1. Grit by Obari Gomba
  2. The Ojuelegba Crossroads by Abideen Abolaji Ojomu
  3. Yamatarawala—The Warrior King by Henry Akubuiro

These literary maestros have reached a significant milestone in their creative careers, and the Rainbow Book Club, together with the warm-hearted people of Rivers State, eagerly anticipates hosting these writers in Port Harcourt. The city, honoured as UNESCO World Book Capital in 2014, is also the proud home of NLNG, the generous sponsor of the $100,000 Nigeria Prize for Literature.

The literary world awaits with bated breath as these three exceptional playwrights vie for the coveted NPL, a testament to the enduring power of storytelling in the heart of Africa.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date