Grammy 2024: Musical Icons N.W.A., Laurie Anderson, others to receive lifetime achievement honours

The Grammy Awards have unveiled the star-studded lineup for the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. The illustrious list includes iconic names such as N.W.A., Laurie Anderson, Donna Summer, Gladys Knight, Tammy Wynette, and The Clark Sisters. The musical luminaries are set to be honoured at the prestigious Special Merit Awards ceremony on February 3, preceding the main Grammy Awards event at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles.

Expressing her excitement, Laurie Anderson took to social media, exclaiming, “What luck! To be part of a group of some of my all-time favourite artists.” The anticipation builds as these legends prepare to bask in the spotlight of recognition.

Beyond the Lifetime Achievement Awards, the Special Merit Awards will also shine a spotlight on outstanding contributors behind the scenes. Notable figures like producer/manager Peter Asker, hip hop pioneer DJ Kool Herc, and attorney Joel Katz will receive the coveted Trustees Awards.

In addition, the Technical Grammy Awards will be bestowed upon Tom Kobayashi and Tom Scott, while the socially impactful song ‘Refugee’ by K’naan, Steve McEwan, and Gerald Eaton claims the title of Best Song for Social Change.

As the Grammy Awards approach on February 4, the excitement continues to mount. Hosted by Trevor Noah, the event will feature fierce competition in categories such as Record of the Year, with Taylor Swift, SZA, Victoria Monét, and Boygenius leading nominations. The Album of the Year category boasts eight formidable contenders, setting the stage for a potentially record-breaking year for Taylor Swift, who could make history with a fourth Album of the Year win.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date