Durban FilmMart Institute announces new Board of Directors

Durban FilmMart Institute (DFMI) has announced the appointment of its new Board of Directors.

According to a statement, the Board of Directors taking the baton from the founding board, includes Dr. Tegan Bristow, Fazel Dolley, Mpumi Mazibuko, Pearl Munonde and Neiloe Whitehead, led by co-chairs Neil Brandt and Maganthrie Pillay.

“We extend a very warm welcome to the Board of Directors of 2023”, says Magdalene Reddy, Director of the Durban FilmMart Institute. “The newly appointed members bring a wealth of experience, expertise and passion for the film industry and we have the utmost confidence in their abilities and strategic vision. Their diverse backgrounds and perspectives will contribute to the Institute’s commitment to promoting cinematic excellence, supporting emerging talents and preserving film heritage and culture on the continent.”

The Durban FilmMart Institute, established in 2020, aims to be a leading hub for the African film industry, supporting professionals and promoting global recognition. DFMI offers programmes and services to facilitate investment, increase project visibility, access funding, promote co-productions, encourage collaboration, expand market access and create a supportive community of filmmakers on the continent.

The Board plays a vital role in guiding the strategic direction, fostering growth and ensuring the continued success of the Durban FilmMart Institute in advancing its mandate to facilitate local and international trade and investment in African film content.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date