BAFTA announces Jury for Breakthrough India 2021

The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) has announced the illustrious list of jury members for its debut BAFTA Breakthrough India initiative, supported by Netflix.

According to a statement, distinguished professionals from across the film, games and television industries came together to select this year’s talented honourees, chaired by BAFTA Breakthrough India Ambassador, A R Rahman.

BAFTA invited candidates from across the country to apply for their flagship talent initiative ‘BAFTA Breakthrough India’. Due to an overwhelming number of quality applications from the films, games and television industries nationwide, the initiative will recognise not five but ten emerging Indian talents across the three industries.

The ten chosen BAFTA Breakthrough India honourees will receive one-to-one mentoring and career guidance, full voting BAFTA membership and access to BAFTA events and networking opportunities, both in the UK and internationally.

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the jury met virtually, bringing together a diverse mix of national and international knowledge across the film, games and television industries.

Siddharth Roy Kapur (Founder & Producer at Roy Kapur Films)

BAFTA Breakthrough India Ambassador and Jury Chair, A R Rahman, said, “BAFTA is a platform where artists from around the world, including the best from India, are represented and celebrated, and it’s my honour to be a part of its Breakthrough India jury. There are many creatives in India who are looking to bring their art to the world, to showcase India’s vibrant and diverse culture, but unfortunately, they face traps both mental and external. The opportunity to discuss these blocks, to engage on issues of creativity, to make the right connections, to network and grow, would greatly benefit the plethora of talent we have in our country. Through Breakthrough, we offer artists our knowledge and connectivity, as well as opportunities that’ll hopefully nurture their craft and help them leave their mark on the world. India is home to incredible artists and I’m proud of us. It’s time we make our names known, it’s time we all shine.”

List of Jurors 2021 include:

A R Rahman – Jury Chair (Music Composer)

Anupam Kher (Actor)

Charu Desodt (Former BAFTA Breakthrough & Games Producer)

Krishnendu Majumdar (BAFTA Chair and TV Producer)

Mira Nair (Director/Writer/Producer)

Monika Shergill (VP, Content, Netflix India)

Shonali Bose (Director/Writer/Producer)

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date