Abibiman African Writers Series releases Olukorede S. Yishau’s “Vaults of Secrets” in the UK

The Oxford-based Abibiman Publishing is set to release the United Kingdom edition of the Nigeria Prize for Literature nominee Olukorede S. Yishau’s collection of short stories, Vaults of Secrets. 

The collection is published under the revamped African Writers Series (AWS). 

The collection has 14 stories, some of which are intertwined. The stories flirt with the limits of freedom and bondage. They are a means through which Yishau examines the nature of man and his ability to choose. They also explore man’s ability to live with the choices he has made.

The stories in the collection reveal capacity for tackling difficult subjects within a range of diverse settings. From the miserable confines of a Nigerian prison to Western suburbia, readers are made to come to terms with the universality of the human condition, the pain and hurt all experienced regardless of the places they inhabit, or the social statuse they bear.

The collection explores themes such as rare gift, doppelganger cum reincarnation, justice dispensation, betrayal, paternity, childhood love, prison life and corruption.

Yishau is the author of In the Name of Our Father, his debut novel longlisted for the 2021 Nigeria Prize for Literature.


Subscribe to our Newsletter
Stay up-to-date